Diglot
United States
Joined 3312 days ago

3 posts - 4 votes
Speaks: English*, French
Studies: Norwegian

Message 1 of 12
25 March 2015 at 9:32pm | IP Logged 
Hi everyone! I'm Leah, and I'm a high school student from the United States.

I've been studying French for the past 3 years both at school and on my own. I didn't
have any particular reason for picking French, but I'm so glad I did. French class was
the thing that first got me interested in languages. :)

This past school year, I ended up testing out of my French III class because I got
tired of how boring and slow it was. No one else in my class really wanted to learn or
speak French (they just saw it as an easy grade), and the only thing we had done for
months was review. Anyway, I passed the final exam with a 92%, and I'm currently
taking French IV online through my school's virtual academy. It's not quite what I
expected, but so far it's alright -- honestly, I'm just happy to be challenged again!
Outside of school, I read books in French and occasionally write journal entries to
help me practice. Last year I got to go to French immersion camp for 2 weeks, and that
was absolutely amazing. I'm going back again this summer, and I'm even going on a trip
to Quebec in June! This year is going to be wonderful in terms of progress. :)

I'm also currently learning Norwegian with my parents, as some of my ancestors came
from Norway and since all three of us are interested in Scandinavia in general. We're
hoping to plan a visit sometime in the next few years, which should be interesting. :)

There are so so many other languages that I hope to learn someday. At the moment, I'm
most interested in Mandarin, Japanese, Russian, and German, but my list goes on
forever!

I really enjoy learning about different cultures, and I think that being about to
speak to other people and connect with them in their native language is a very special
thing. I believe that education and connection is essential in sustaining peace and