Diglot
United States
Joined 5260 days ago

173 posts - 235 votes 
Speaks: English*, Japanese
Studies: Korean, Spanish, Norwegian, Mandarin, French

Message 1 of 350
19 April 2015 at 7:30pm | IP Logged 
Apologies if this has been answered elsewhere but I was looking at my study charts and came
across something I wanted to bring up. I spend about 5-10 minutes per day studying vocabulary for
the main languages I am studying (usually 2-3 Japanese, Norwegian, or Spanish). This may not
seem like very much but in my totals column, I see that I have studied around 40 hours of Japanese
vocabulary over the past year.

This is some what of a loaded question but I think it would be smart to ask it anyway. How much
time do you believe should be spent studying vocabulary actively? How much do you spend
studying vocabulary actively? By actively I mean using things like word lists or flashcards. I for one
like these methods as I feel that slowly but surely my vocabulary expands. I aim to incorporate about
3-5 new words a day into each of my master vocab lists. I am just wondering what other's
vocabulary study plan looks like.

I also recognize that this depends a lot on different factors like previous exposure to the language,
native language, former language study, etc., and I think it would be good for people to bring up
these differences as well. For example, naturally since I have studied Japanese longer, my Japanese
vocabulary study now focuses on more advanced words I have come across from reading
newspapers or watching Japanese television shows while my Norwegian vocabulary study still
focuses on acquiring common and high frequency words. I guess my questions are then directed a
bit more generally and would just like to hear what everyone else does.

Thanks
1 person has voted this message useful

daegga
Tetraglot
Austria
lang-8.com/553301
Joined 4301 days ago

1076 posts - 1792 votes 
Speaks: German*, EnglishC2, Swedish, Norwegian
Studies: Danish, French, Finnish, Icelandic