diplomaticus
United States
Joined 3760 days ago

23 posts - 31 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: German

Message 1 of 16
28 April 2015 at 4:20am | IP Logged 
Per advice of others in the advice thread I made, I am starting a log. Here is that
thread for reference:

http://how-to-learn-any-language.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?T ID=40309&PN=1&TPN=1

Even with having friends surprise me from out of town, getting sick, celebrating a
birthday, and suffering a severe sunburn, I've yet to miss a day of study. I am
unsure how long it takes to make a habit, but I figure I am off to a good start. I've
always found that as long as you don't break the streak, your time-on-task for
something may undulate up and down, but you will surely go a long way towards whatever
you are trying to achieve!

Anyway, I started playing with Lingvist tonight. What a fun site! This seems like
something I could see me enjoying for a long time. You can pop on or off at any time.
A few minutes here, or a big chunk of time there. I enjoy it. Is this just a site
with a sort of built-in spaced repetition like what I see referenced with Anki decks?
I've never used Anki, but I got the impression it was similar. What I really like is
that it shows the part of speech and has a nice-sounding audio built in. The only
thing I am unsure of is how to get it to repeat an entire French sentence without
having to click next and back again. I can only get it to do one word at a time with
clicking. Any ideas?

I decided to set French Without Toil aside for a bit. Today was day 15. I am unsure
how to feel about it. I don't hate it. I don't love it. But I just don't feel that
engaged with it when working through it.

Per the advice of Jeffers, I started listening to L'avis de Marie today. She does have
a nice, clear voice, and it is a good length of time. Does anyone have advice on the
best thing to do with a podcast like this? Should I copy-paste the text into google