timeofftakeoff.com
Joined 3392 days ago

56 posts - 84 votes 
Speaks: English*, Esperanto, French
Studies: Italian, Catalan
Studies: Swedish

Message 1 of 34
10 May 2015 at 12:54pm | IP Logged 
Hello! I'm Tim and I've set myself a silly challenge. It's not the first one. A few months ago I decided to buy a book in Catalan because it was very cheap. This book was 1300 pages long and I hadn't even thought about studying Catalan. Not my cleverest idea. I'm currently 50% the way through and enjoying it though.

In 12 days' time I and my other half will be in Sweden. I hit upon the bright idea of doing a six-week challenge in Swedish beforehand but, alas, didn't actually get started. It's realistically far too late now, especially since we'll be in Italy a few days after coming home from Sweden and I need to make sure I've read a few Italian books before too.

So I've modified my challenge to myself. Before I started studying Catalan I bought an Asterix book in the language and used that as a way of teaching myself the grammar of the language. And it just so happens I have something to hand that might be useful for Swedish too:

So, my challenge to myself will be to teach myself the basics of Swedish by using a copy of Asterix och britterna. I will need to have read that book before we go away. And I must've understood it too.

I have some tools to help me:

That dictionary's going to become my best friend. I don't think I'll get around to using that copy of TY, but at least it's there if I think I've identified a grammatical feature and want to double-check. I won't be writing in Swedish but it's possible I'll identify a verb form and want to see what it corresponds to, so the book on verbs might be a useful tool.

And if I really get into trouble, then I have a get-out-of-jail card:

I have copies of the same story in French and Italian too, so I can effectively use them as parallel texts :)