jimjums
Australia
Joined 3193 days ago

4 posts - 4 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: Mandarin

Message 1 of 7
03 July 2015 at 12:24pm | IP Logged 
Total newb here... sorry if this has been posted before, I can't figure out (am too lazy to) the search
function.

I'm going to be heading to Timor in 3 months, and would to start learning a new language... figure this is
a nice opportunity. I need a break from Mandarin.

I've found the Peace Corp book, and matching youtube recordings. Anyone know of anything else like this?

Also!!! I'm wondering if anyone can recommend some TV, radio, hip-hop!!! or music, purely for listening to
the language. I've found some stuff on youtube.... any other suggestions?

Thanks
1 person has voted this message useful

Nieng Zhonghan
Bilingual Tetraglot
Antarctica
Joined 3430 days ago

108 posts - 315 votes 
Speaks: Portuguese*, Japanese*, Spanish, Galician
Studies: Finnish, Icelandic, Armenian, Mongolian
Studies: Old English, Russian, English, German, Korean, Mandarin

Message 2 of 7
03 July 2015 at 3:17pm | IP Logged 
Welcome to the forum, jimjums.

In short, people are your best resource if you want to speak a language. I don't know
where you live in Australia, but I have heard of some Tetun native speaker’s community
there.

Keep your eyes and ears open. You can also find a language exchange partner on-line.
Once you find someone to exchange language with, simply speak as much you can do
before going there.

The reason why speaking is so good is simply because it puts what you've learnt
into action; active use of the language creates new mental connections between those
passively learnt words and grammatical constructs to more active parts of the memory,
which once there are more easily accessible when needed.

Also perhaps start a daily or even weekly (if you are out of time) journal type thing
in Tetun? I might add that twitter is an excellent resource for some language