nancydowns
United States
Joined 3700 days ago

184 posts - 288 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Spanish, Arabic (Written)

Message 1 of 2
07 July 2015 at 9:56pm | IP Logged 
I am going to be in Detroit in a few weeks and wondered if anyone here has knowledge of good places to go for Spanish or Arabic. I am definitely
going to go to Dearborn because that's where the big Arabic community is. I looked up a few places already, but thought I would check to see if
anyone has been around there before? I would love to find some used bookstores, but new are good, too! I am still a beginner in Arabic, so very
small children's books or bilingual are what I would need. Also would be interested in dictionaries and grammars. Thanks!
1 person has voted this message useful

nancydowns
United States
Joined 3700 days ago

184 posts - 288 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Spanish, Arabic (Written)

Message 2 of 2
01 August 2015 at 4:27am | IP Logged 
I decided to answer my own question. : ) Actually, I still can't give a complete answer because I didn't have time to look at all the
bookstores I was hoping to go to.

1. University of Michigan - Dearborn This one was a waste of time because their bookstore is tiny. They have lots of University
clothing and so on for sale, but no books other than textbooks, and their textbook area was closed for restocking for the next semester. You
can look up what books they are using online. The only advantage to going back there when their textbook section is open is to see if you can
get the textbooks used. However, I'm not sure the textbooks are the best option.

2. Rodegher's Used Books No Arabic or Spanish books. Swahili? Yes. : )

3. Another Look Books Dictionaries and workbooks, nothing else.

4. Barnes & Noble I got two books here. They had tons of Libros en EspaƱol, but I didn't need anymore in Spanish. I bought
Arabic in 10 Minues a Day and
Easy
Arabic Reader