Diglot
United States
Joined 4789 days ago

38 posts - 58 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish
Studies: French

Message 1 of 9
13 July 2015 at 5:47pm | IP Logged 
It seems we might be in the midst of a language-learning revolution, thanks to the internet.

There are some great programs out there, but do they really work? Are their promises of "effortless" learning, too good to be true?

You can check out these programs online: Français Authentique for French. There's also Effortless English. And there's also Learn-German-Easy.com. There may be others.

What do they all have in common, besides saying you will learn the language effortlessly? They are all context-based, meaning you don't learn single words, you only learn words in phrases.   

Now, I am a highly fluent Spanish speaker, meaning, I can finish sentences for many native speakers, correct them, and sometimes I'm even more articulate. But, I've been speaking Spanish for more than 10 years, lived over seas, the whole 9 yards. The real breakthrough, however, came when I got my hands on a monolingual dictionary that came with example sentences. Within a few months my Spanish skyrocketed into the stratosphere, and I started to speak highly idiomatic Spanish.

However, I already had a solid base. Years of classes, failed exams, tears, and yes, the dreaded conjugation tables.

So, the question is: Are beginners wasting their time by starting with these programs that stress simply listening over and over to the same audio, and learning phrases instead of words?

Again, context learning is great. But I only got benefit out of that once I had a VERY strong base. Of course, there are many ways to skin a cat. And, maybe, had I learned through phrases from the beginning, I would have learned Spanish faster. But sometimes, like building muscle, there are no short cuts, you simply have to drag yourself to the gym and lift the weights.

Let me know what you guys think?

Edited by issemiyaki on 13 July 2015 at 5:48pm