Language Learning Forum : Specific Languages Post Reply
31 messages over 4 pages: 1 2 3 4  Next >>
guiguixx1
Octoglot
Belgium
guillaumelp.wordpres
Joined 3851 days ago

163 posts - 207 votes 
Speaks: French*, English, Dutch, Portuguese, Esperanto, German, Italian, Spanish
Studies: Polish, Mandarin

Message 1 of 31
07 November 2015 at 3:31pm | IP Logged 
Hi all,

I am actually planing on studying Russian (I am beginning the Duolingo course and
would like to keep going), but of course, as a French native speaker, I have some
problems with the alphabet. Though it's quite easy to associate the letters with the
sounds (in general), I have some problems memorising the vocab, for the words that are
not at all pronounced like English word. Though I studied Ancient Greek for a couple
of months last year, Russian is more or less the first language I try which has a
different alphabet and a different vocab. I know it will take time to get to any level
at all, but I would like to get some advice so that I don't linger for an entire year
on the basis of the language. I'd like to get to at least A1 within 6 months' time (I
have no idea how long it would take me to improve in this language).

Is there anyone who tried russian as a native French or English speaker and has advice
on how to get going? Should I already try to get massive exposure to the spoken
language via youtube videos? Or use some language methods like Assimil or Harrap's? I
already have the Harrap's method (though the "spécial debutants-méthode express en 15
minutes par jour" method) and the "méthode 90 jours", though it seems to focus on
useless vocab, so I'm not sure it would be of a great help...

Thanks in advance!
2 persons have voted this message useful

djc463
Heptaglot
Groupie
United StatesRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 5560 days ago

51 posts - 74 votes 
Speaks: English*, French, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, German, Italian
Studies: Mandarin

Message 2 of 31