Bilingual Tetraglot
Yugoslavia
Joined 5191 days ago

342 posts - 501 votes 
Speaks: Slovak*, Serbo-Croatian*, EnglishC1, Czech
Studies: Russian, Japanese

Message 1 of 2
26 November 2015 at 7:17pm | IP Logged 
So I've been learning Japanese on and off for about two years now, but the last few months I've been studying seriously, enough to read let's say Wikipedia with a dictionary. But my comprehension aside, here's what I have a pet peeve with:

Some words in Japanese can be written in Kanji or have a Kanji component, but are usually written in Hiragana. And writing those words in Kanji is considered rare, archaic or overly formal. For instance, 御早う御座います is usually written おはようございます; demonstrative pronouns e.g. 其れ、此の、何処, are usually written それ、この、どこ; words like 林檎、蜜柑、結構, are written りんご、みかん、けっこう.

I mean, have Japanese people become lazy over the last 100 years or are there some good reasons not to write any possible word that can be written with Kanji, with Kanji?! I'm furious at the thought, because I love Kanji!

Edited by Delodephius on 26 November 2015 at 7:27pm

1 person has voted this message useful

vonPeterhof
Tetraglot
Russian FederationRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4560 days ago

715 posts - 1527 votes 
Speaks: Russian*, EnglishC2, Japanese, German
Studies: Kazakh, Korean, Norwegian, Turkish

Message 2 of 2
27 November 2015 at 11:02am | IP Logged