United States
Joined 5261 days ago

173 posts - 235 votes 
Speaks: English*, Japanese
Studies: Korean, Spanish, Norwegian, Mandarin, French

Message 1 of 11
24 December 2015 at 10:42am | IP Logged 
Hi everyone,

I recently accepted a position to work in China and thus think it is a good idea to start taking serious
my study of Mandarin. I studied somewhat seriously about five years ago, but have since only
visited it sporadically. Since this offer has come about, however, I have since begun more diligently
studying. I have about two months before I arrive in China, so I am trying to study about two-three
hours each day at the least. Twice a week, I meet with a Chinese friend who helps me study and I
am becoming more confident in my speaking, though it still needs work.

However, I am having a bit of trouble selecting materials. I was thinking of going through Assimil 2,
but other than that I am really at a loss for textbooks at the lower intermediate level. Thus far, I have
a good understanding of the grammar, tones are not a major issue for me, but more complicated
grammatical patterns still confuse me and my vocabulary is lacking. I was wondering if anyone
might have (a) any thoughts on Assimil Chinese with Ease 2, and (b) any advice about other
materials that may help me acquire the skills I am lacking. For the moment, since I am leaving to
China quite soon, I think it is best to really try to get my communication skills as strong as possible.

Thank you all in advance.

1 person has voted this message useful

Expugnator
Hexaglot
Brazil
Joined 4947 days ago

3335 posts - 4349 votes 
Speaks: Portuguese*, Norwegian, French, English, Italian, Papiamento
Studies: Mandarin, Georgian, Russian

Message 2 of 11
26 December 2015 at 8:41pm | IP Logged 
How good is your French? Méthode 90 is a good sequel to Assimil.
2 persons have voted this message useful

Po-ru
Diglot
United States
Joined 5261 days ago

173 posts - 235 votes 

Message 3 of 11