Sweden
Joined 6973 days ago

536 posts - 589 votes 
7 sounds
Speaks: Swedish*, English
Studies: Mandarin

Message 1 of 24
18 April 2005 at 8:13am | IP Logged 
Since there has been some talk about the "shadowing" method   in this forum recently, I would like to know the advantages of using this method compared to the echoing approach used by e.g. Pimsleur. I have read that it is more natural to shadow, since it is easier to learn a song by singing along with someone who knows it than by singing it after them. I don't agree with this. I have learnt a lot of jazz music by ear (I'm an amateur jazz pianist) and I did that by listening to the recording and imitating it not by playing or singing along with it.
1 person has voted this message useful

Seth
Diglot
Changed to RedKing’sDream
United States
Joined 7014 days ago

240 posts - 252 votes 
Speaks: English*, Russian
Studies: Persian

Message 2 of 24
18 April 2005 at 11:56am | IP Logged 
I'm not sure the terminology is correct.

The great thing about Pimseleur is that it is not simple echoing (most of it at least) like 99% of the other programs out there, but rather CREATING new sentences in the target language. This is what's great about "Anticipation Response," as those who promote it say it leads to automaticity. Unfortuntaely, Pimseleur courses are so incredibly limited that the learner becomes proficient in a tiny amount of the language.

In theory, I don't see why shadowing would be "better"...but I suppose the bottom line is you can't argue with results.

ProfArguelles
United States
foreignlanguageexper
Joined 7046 days ago

609 posts - 2102 votes 

Message 3 of 24
18 April 2005 at 7:16pm | IP Logged 
Let us define:

Echoing = listen, then repeat
Shadowing = listen and repeat simultaneously