Brazil
Joined 4343 days ago

20 posts - 25 votes
Speaks: Portuguese*, English
Studies: German, French

Message 1 of 7
20 January 2016 at 11:25am | IP Logged 
Hi,

I have been dedicating 6h/week to study french for 11 months now. It is my first time trying to learn a language on my
own. So far, I am using flash cards to help learning, and I make reviews every day. I went through a grammar book and
made some exercises. I am following the course Learn french with Vincent on youtube, right now, I am on unit 12 of 20.
I tried to read articles from newspapers in french, and some page of the first Harry Potter book, and I can at least
have an understanding of what it is about. I can say I am happy with my progress so far.

I would like some suggestions on improving my listening and reading.

I tried listening to the Harry Potter audiobook, but it is too hard to understand yet. Same thing with movies. Does
anyone have a suggestion of some text/audio that is not so complex, but also not too simple?

Does transcribing help?

Thank you

Kelly
1 person has voted this message useful

James29
Diglot
United States
Joined 5156 days ago

1265 posts - 2113 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish
Studies: French

Message 2 of 7
20 January 2016 at 10:51pm | IP Logged 
Have you done an Assimil course? They are cheap and should give you what you are looking for.

Edited by James29 on 20 January 2016 at 10:51pm

kgoedert
Diglot
Brazil
Joined 4343 days ago

20 posts - 25 votes

Message 3 of 7
21 January 2016 at 10:29am | IP Logged 
I tried the assimil course, before I started watching the youtube course I mentioned, but I
just didn't like it.

Speakeasy
Canada
Joined 3833 days ago

507 posts - 1098 votes 
Studies: German

Message 4 of 7
21 January 2016 at 12:44pm | IP Logged