United States
Joined 4693 days ago

115 posts - 217 votes 
Speaks: Italian, English*, Spanish, Portuguese, French
Studies: Japanese

Message 1 of 17
09 February 2016 at 6:44am | IP Logged 
Hello!

for those that don't wanna read that wall of text, here's the main question...
Is it possible for an American to learn Japanese or Chinese or Korean to near native fluency? I am not
talking about accent, I am talking about a command of the language on par with that of an educated native.

Do you think it's possible without spending massive amounts of time in east asian countries?

So I have been working on Japanese for the past 3 months, I have put in roughly 1-2hrs a day of actual study,
(sometimes up to 5!) learning grammar / writing out sentences / reviewing verbs and expressions etc. Then,
throughout the day, I try to focus hard on memorizing another 15 words from an app on my phone. Then I look
over the other 15 for the next day, but don't try to memorize those, just familiarize myself so that I can learn
them better the next day.

I have put in lot of hours, I've come a long way since I started just 3 months ago, and I am 100% making
progress. Due to the fact that I am making progress, (albeit the progress is slow) I am not getting discouraged.

Despite of what I said above, I am starting to think that it would be nearly impossible to achieve near native
fluency in Japanese.

I often see Asians who spend large amounts of time in the US, and even the Asians who moved here as adults
and can communicate fluently, none of them seem to have a native like command of the language.

I have a few Brazilian friends who speak English near natively, one of them has only been here for a year and
half and he undoubtedly speaks English more eloquently and with a more diverse range of vocal than 95% of
Americans, despite having still a touch of an accent.

Comparing the level of English between the Brazilian and Chinese students, I can say that for them it is