bit.ly/qc_10_lec
Joined 5163 days ago

3971 posts - 7747 votes 
Speaks: English, French*, GermanC1, Spanish, Japanese, Esperanto
Studies: Italian, Norwegian, Mandarin, Romanian, Estonian

Message 41 of 78
13 March 2010 at 5:18am | IP Logged 
Louche wrote:
I think she actually translates in all or most of her nine languages...
she told me a today that she was translating a Russian text.

I'm a professional translator and we have a difficult time finding anyone qualified
enough to translate from English into French and produce decent quality work. I know of
very few people who, despite having over 10 years of experience and being near-natives in
L2, admit to not being as qualified at translating into their L2. So, allow me to be
skeptical when I hear of anyone translating to and from more than 2 languages.

Edited by Arekkusu on 13 March 2010 at 5:19am

2 persons have voted this message useful

crackpot
Triglot
Canada
Joined 6083 days ago

144 posts - 178 votes 
Speaks: English*, French, Spanish
Studies: Italian

Message 42 of 78
19 March 2010 at 10:56pm | IP Logged 
I'm starting to think this rule of seven has some merit if you have a job and a family. I
don't know if I am going to be able to reach 7 or not. I'm still going to try though.
1 person has voted this message useful

joanthemaid
Triglot
France
Joined 5252 days ago

483 posts - 559 votes 
Speaks: French*, English, Spanish
Studies: Russian, German

Message 43 of 78
19 March 2010 at 11:18pm | IP Logged 
robsolete wrote:

My 15 year goal is to work my way through the six U.N. languages. So...

-English
-Spanish
-French
-Arabic
-Russian
-Mandarin

Me too! but I'm not aiming for native fluency and while I trust myself to learn Spanish, Russian and even Arabic easily (relatively so anyway) I'm really scared of Chinese. I'd sort of planned a seven year study plan though... Can anyone with experience tell me if it's possible without spending 4 hours a day on it?