United States
geocities.com/overth
Joined 6520 days ago

9 posts - 9 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: German, Spanish

Message 1 of 12
03 March 2007 at 2:41pm | IP Logged 
I want to add Kurdish to the languages that I'm studying but I can't find any learning materials. What do you use to study Kurdish?
1 person has voted this message useful

daristani
United States
Joined 6940 days ago

752 posts - 1661 votes 
Studies: Uzbek

Message 2 of 12
03 March 2007 at 3:34pm | IP Logged 
You don’t specify which variety of Kurdish you are interested in, and so it isn’t easy to make recommendations. But in hopes it will be helpful, and as a reference for anyone else who may be interested in Kurdish, I’m re-posting here four (long!) notes I wrote a couple of years ago on another language-learning website. They deal with 1) what it means to “learn Kurdish”, 2) materials for Kurmanci, 3) materials for Sorani, 4) materials for Zazaki, as well as a final note with some excellent materials that have only gone on-line recently. It’s probably way more than you, or anyone else for that matter, would ever want to read through, but it is fairly exhaustive:

Various people here seem to be interested in learning “Kurdish”, and for various reasons, but I have the impression not everyone is all that familiar with the dialect situation, so I thought I’d try to give a brief introduction so that people don’t spin their wheels on learning aspects of the language that don’t suit their needs.

Learning Kurdish tends to be a frustrating and confusing exercise, due to the dialect situation, the political situation of the Kurds in different countries, and the problem of finding good materials to learn from.