Diglot
United States
Joined 6950 days ago

272 posts - 285 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish
Studies: French

Message 9 of 26
18 May 2005 at 6:39pm | IP Logged 
I use Polyglot-learn-language and Friends Abroad to find Spanish speakers. I haven't had much success finding exchange partners on Polyglot, but I have had overwhelming success with Friends Abroad.
I agree that the use of photos in the profiles probably encourages some people to use Friends Abroad as a dating service, but I think if you are clear about your intentions (in your profile) you will find the right kind of people.      

1 person has voted this message useful

Qbe
Tetraglot
United States
joewright.org/var
Joined 6922 days ago

289 posts - 335 votes 
Speaks: English*, Latin, Ancient Greek, Biblical Hebrew
Studies: Japanese, German, Mandarin, Aramaic

Message 10 of 26
09 June 2005 at 9:49pm | IP Logged 
I've been studying Japanese for the last 10 months or so. Living in a small midwestern US city, I have very little opportunity to meet any native speakers on a regular basis, so I have recently become intrigued by the possibility of using Skype for conversational practice with native speakers. Unfortunately I never seemed to be able to get any response from native speakers at the Skype forums.

A few weeks ago I read about a new language exchange site called The Mixxer, which is aimed both at individual learners and at language classes. You register your email address, fill out a brief profile, specify your native language and indicate which languages you are seeking to practice. You can then search for native speakers who are interested in practicing your own native language.