SwedenRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 6669 days ago

4250 posts - 5710 votes 
Speaks: Swedish*, English
Studies: German, Spanish, Russian, Dutch, Mandarin, Esperanto, Irish, French
Personal Language Map

Message 1 of 53
07 May 2007 at 6:29pm | IP Logged 
I continue my series about my language studies...

(first paragraph copied from this thread)

Irish was the first language that I studied on my own (~1992). I got the Linguaphone course, studied for a while, then took a break, started again, then took another break et.c. A few years later I got books about Scots Gaelic and realised how much I "knew" already. Then I got addicted to Internet and joined Gaeilge-B, and read Teach Yourself Irish. And took a break for five-six years...

Late December 2005/early January 2006 I thought I was very motivated and began following BBC's online course which was just what I needed to slowly recover what I once knew.

Did I finish that one? Not a chance.

Today it was time to dig out my old Linguaphone course. I think it may have been at least 12 years since I listened to the tapes, although I have flipped through the pages of the two books at the time I joined Gaeilge-B.

First I listened to the sound of the language without paying any real attention to what was said. I understood (or rather, "remembered") almost everything from the introduction dialogues! Then I followed the text whilst listening to the tape, listened again and read the translation, and even had a go at shadowing.

With my other languages in mind (the ones I should really focus on...), Irish is low priority, but I will try to maintain a semi-regular schedule. The chapters are a bit longer than Assimil (perhaps close to TY/Colloquial), and (from what I saw today, and still remember) have two parts where the first usually is a dialogue and the second a brief summary. I'll definitely consider converting the tapes to a more handy format, such as CD and/or mp3.

Obvious goals: