Canada
Joined 6477 days ago

321 posts - 327 votes 
3 sounds
Speaks: French*, EnglishC2
Studies: German, Italian

Message 1 of 3
15 May 2007 at 9:01pm | IP Logged 
I've been thinking about going abroad for either 1 or 2 semesters next year (fall 08). I could either do it in:

-Switzerland, France or Belgium to complement my degree. Technical translation is something that really interests me so I guess having a degree made up of 3 years in English and 1 in French might not be a bad thing. One year would probably be enough to learn all the technical terms and who knows maybe standardize my French.

-An English speaking country (or somewhere where they offer courses in English) just for the experience and to see more of the world I guess.

-Countries like Germany, Netherlands, Norway, Spain...to enhance my curriculum, learn a new languague to a high level and enjoy discovering new cultures. But I've no knowledge of the languages spoken in these countries whatsoever (a bit of German but not much)

so I was wondering how manageable that'd be to learn a new language in a year span to a level that would satisfy university requirements?

Would it be easier in Dutch, German or Norwegian?

IS IT POSSIBLE TO PULL IT OFF WITH ONLY A PASSIVE KNOWLEDGE OF THE LANGUAGE?

Have any of you ever tried that, the 3rd option I mean?

I'm still just thinking about that but I like the idea!

P.S. I'm taking a degree in engineering...

Thanks!

Edited by justinwilliams on 15 May 2007 at 9:05pm

1 person has voted this message useful

lady_skywalker
Triglot
Netherlands
aspiringpolyglotblog
Joined 6678 days ago

909 posts - 942 votes 
Speaks: Spanish, English*, Mandarin
Studies: Japanese, French, Dutch, Italian

Message 2 of 3
16 May 2007 at 1:39pm | IP Logged 
If you want to learn Dutch and be able to get somewhere with it in just one semester in the Netherlands, I'd recommend that you start learning it before you go there.