PolandRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 6684 days ago

1251 posts - 1733 votes 
5 sounds
Speaks: Polish*, EnglishB2, GermanC2, SpanishB2, Dutch, Swedish, French

Message 9 of 48
07 June 2007 at 7:28am | IP Logged 
Quote:

I don't use books which just teach isolated vocabulary; the only person I can think of who has an approach anything like that is Iversen

I was using books which isolated vocabulary as well, but I put the words into flash-card software and did repetitions. Now I prefer to use some ready-made vocabulary databases and I'm studying intensively German vocabulary with such a database, sometimes I learn in this way English, Spanish or French vocabulary but not so systematically.

For me it's great method, of course not the only one I use. It enables me to fill some gaps in my vocabulary and to learn words, that I wouldn't encounter often enough in the texts or conversations, like the names of rare animals, food, sports, tools etc. The system of repetitions somehow makes possible to me knowing these words actively, not passively only. I can pick up the topic that I find interesting and train isolated vocabulary in this thematic area. But... it's only a kind of support for other methods of learning (like reading texts and memorizing words in a context) and I think it's good specially if we already know the language pretty well, and we don't have any problems to put the words into the grammatical structure on the language and to use them properly.
1 person has voted this message useful

Iversen
Super Polyglot
Denmark
berejst.dk
Joined 6484 days ago

9078 posts - 16473 votes 
Speaks: Danish*, French, English, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch, Swedish, Esperanto, Romanian, Catalan
Studies: Afrikaans, Greek, Norwegian, Russian, Serbian, Icelandic, Latin, Irish, Lowland Scots, Indonesian, Polish, Croatian
Personal Language Map

Message 10 of 48
07 June 2007 at 8:10am | IP Logged 
Quote: