11 messages over 2 pages: 1 2  Next >>
metavirus
United States
Joined 6092 days ago

4 posts - 4 votes
Speaks: English*

Message 1 of 11
24 July 2007 at 4:32pm | IP Logged 
I am a lawyer in Manhattan and may need to work on a project in Japan in the next few months. My boss said that he'd like me to become "conversational" in Japanese but not to the level of actually conducting negotiations in Japanese or anything like that.

I took Japanese for 5 years way back in high school and college and only got to what I would describe as "Intermediate" (i.e., just shy of conversational). It has been 10 years since I used the language at all and I am super rusty (only probably at a "Basic" level now).

I would appreciate any advice on (1) what does it mean to be "conversational" in a language [the level I would need to be, so says my boss], (2) whether it would be possible to become "conversational" in the next couple of months, and (3) if it would be possible, what should I do to get there? As you can imagine, my days are full up and I would need to work on my language skills in the evenings and on weekends. Money wouldn't be a concern.

Thanks in advance for the advice!
1 person has voted this message useful

furyou_gaijin
Japan
Joined 6145 days ago

540 posts - 631 votes 
Speaks: Latin*

Message 2 of 11
24 July 2007 at 6:17pm | IP Logged 
metavirus wrote:
(1) what does it mean to be "conversational" in a
language [the level I would need to be, so says my boss]

...and why don't you ask your boss what he means?!

Edited by furyou_gaijin on 24 July 2007 at 6:17pm

metavirus
United States
Joined 6092 days ago

4 posts - 4 votes

Message 3 of 11
24 July 2007 at 6:19pm | IP Logged 
Good question. He's big on me figuring out things on my own and probably wouldn't like to be bothered with the question. Any suggestions?

awake
United States
Joined 6395 days ago

406 posts - 438 votes 
Studies: Esperanto, Spanish

Message 4 of 11
24 July 2007 at 7:45pm | IP Logged