nhk9
Canada
Joined 6564 days ago

290 posts - 319 votes 
Speaks: English*

Message 9 of 18
10 January 2008 at 8:17pm | IP Logged 
Hi Jana

I was in a similar situation as you earlier. Although I am not a Korean language authority by any means, I hope I can still help you with your situation.

I had been studying Japanese for 5 years prior to my starting of Korean. I needed a change in my language studying habits, so I chose Korean. I found that I wasn't getting anywhere with my learning of very advanced vocabulary and idioms in Japanese since I wasn't getting enough use of the language and I felt that my time could be spent on learning other things instead of obscure kanjis. That was the spring of 2005. Ever since then, I have been studying by myself, with the occasion help from native speaking friends.

If you know advanced Japanese already, you will have a tremendous discount in grammar learning. Some expressions are exact mirror images of each other; e.g. に過ぎない = 에지나지 않다

However there are pitfalls and other differences when it comes down to grammar. For beginners, one of the most annoying parts is that for some korean verbs (ie. non Sino-korean), one must learn their causative and passive forms through rote memory. I remember a textbook stated that there are about 130+ of these causative forms, and that they should be treated as stand alone verbs. Nonetheless, what makes learning these forms confusing is the fact that for some verbs, the causative and passive are the same.

Other pitfalls including the differences in the usage of certain particles, particularly the object marker. One wouldn't say "旅行を行く" in Japanese, but in Korean they do exactly that. Some other notable points include the difference in how compound verbs are created. Most of the time, you expect the corresponding compound verb to work in the opposite way in Korean.