Groupie
Malaysia
Joined 6179 days ago

89 posts - 98 votes 
Speaks: EnglishC2*, Malay*
Studies: French, Japanese

Message 1 of 65
11 November 2007 at 11:49pm | IP Logged 
(Note: I am writing on behalf of yesterday.)

I began my intensive Japanese studies today.

I woke up in the morning feeling immensely rejuvenated, having forced myself to sleep rather early the night before. I immediately picked up my Japanese dictionary, and went for a walk with it. I felt a need to get the blood boiling.

About an hour had passed once I returned. I immediately went to my study. An hour after, I did the obligatory bathing/shaving, etc, and then I returned to my studies.

Tae Kim's Japanese Guide: For nearly the whole day I studied, with only minimal breaks in between. I vowed to myself to complete one whole chapter from Tae Kim's excellent guide. Sadly, I only managed to complete 4 parts of it. (As I discovered, each section is not that easy.) I think it was also because I kept separating my attention between Japanese in Mangaland 1 and Breaking Into Japanese Literature every 1 or two hours.

(It may seem as if I'm multitasking, but really, I'm not. I'm still in the Japanese language mode despite the learning material I use. And switching between them is very much crucial for the upkeep of my attention and interest. )

Japanese in Mangaland 1: I have only praises to shower this book with. It is very good. Well-organized and well-presented. The examples are very enlightening, and everything is explained in detail.

Edited by ryuukohito on 15 November 2007 at 9:13am

1 person has voted this message useful

ryuukohito
Bilingual Diglot
Groupie
Malaysia
Joined 6179 days ago

89 posts - 98 votes 

Message 2 of 65
11 November 2007 at 11:57pm | IP Logged