jalcalde
Bilingual Heptaglot
Spain
Joined 6656 days ago

28 posts - 28 votes
Speaks: Spanish*, Catalan*, Portuguese, Esperanto, FrenchC2, English, ItalianC2

Message 9 of 22
30 January 2006 at 8:29am | IP Logged 
Im not an expert, I can only say some words and understand a bit, but I don't think euskera is the most difficult language in Europe. I know some people who have learned it in one year (they communicate without problems), without doing specific efforts for it. It is, definitely, one of the strangest languages in Europe.
However, I do think that it heavily depends on your background. I mean, Russian can be really difficult for an Spaniard, but easy for a Polish. So I am not sure that everybody can reach an agreement of the (objectively) most difficult language, in Europe or wherever.
1 person has voted this message useful

Raistlin Majere
Trilingual Hexaglot
Spain
uciprotour-cycling.c
Joined 6932 days ago

455 posts - 424 votes 
7 sounds
Speaks: English*, Spanish*, Catalan*, FrenchA1, Italian, German
Studies: Swedish

Message 10 of 22
30 January 2006 at 2:28pm | IP Logged 
I'd say euskera is a quite difficult language for two reasons:

1) I tried to learn it myself, but I stopped because of bad learning material (in fact it was so bad I got fed up with it and burned it). The declination system is several times more complex and difficult than that of Finnish, which is already quite hard.

2) It's a language isolate. It can't be easy for anybody in the sense that Italian is easy for a Spaniard or Dutch for an Englishman.

jalcalde
Bilingual Heptaglot
Spain
Joined 6656 days ago

28 posts - 28 votes
Speaks: Spanish*, Catalan*, Portuguese, Esperanto, FrenchC2, English, ItalianC2

Message 11 of 22
31 January 2006 at 4:21am | IP Logged 
I didn't say euskera was easy. However, I was questioning the idea that it could be the most difficult language in Europe.