Heptaglot
Norway
Joined 6364 days ago

2314 posts - 5695 votes 
Speaks: Swedish*, English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Mandarin, Cantonese
Studies: Czech, Latin, German

Message 113 of 131
06 January 2012 at 9:40am | IP Logged 
As Arekkusu's post hints, I'm pretty sure perfect pronunciation has little to do with effort or method. They probably influence it to a certain extent, but the biggest factor by far is some sort of talent, whether inborn or formed in early years. I've passed as a native in English, and what I did to learn English was no different from what all other Swedes do: watch a lot of movies and study the language in school. Even more telling, my accent is good in all my languages, just like Arrekusu (though in most I'll fail the "native speaker" test because of lack of fluidity and vocab). The methods I have used for my languages vary widely:

* I absorbed English at a young age through movies, computer games and some study in school.
* I studied French in school for many years using very traditional methods.
* I studied Mandarin through ChinesePod for a couple of years, during which I had no spoken contact whatsoever with natives, teachers or other learners (that is, no-one corrected my pronunciation for several years). I then spent a year in southern China.
* With Cantonese, I pretty much learned it by first writing it and then speaking it, using a dictionary as I went along. I was using the language with natives from the beginning (except for some basic Pimsleur and tone drills I'd done back home).

The methods are all over the place, yet my pronunciation consistently gets earnest compliments, no matter what the language. I think it's a telltale sign that most people with a good accent seem to have it across all their languages.
2 persons have voted this message useful

Volte
Tetraglot
Switzerland
Joined 6221 days ago

4474 posts - 6726 votes 
Speaks: English*, Esperanto, German, Italian
Studies: French, Finnish, Mandarin, Japanese