Joined 6221 days ago

331 posts - 326 votes 
1 sounds
Speaks: English*, French
Studies: Spanish, Japanese

Message 9 of 25
16 March 2008 at 7:27pm | IP Logged 
Hello Professor,

Do you believe this exercise would be useful for less exotic languages as well? For instance, my language I'm currently studying the most is French. Would it be useful for me to use a novel by Maupassant or Flaubert and do this exercise to more strongly cement French grammar concepts into my mind? It seems to me that this exercise could be useful for me remember which clauses require the subjunctive and for remembering verbs requiring prepositions. What would your thoughts of this be?

Also I noticed you are left handed and you write all all alphabets and characters with your left hand. I had always heard you should learn to write Asian characters with your right hand; but I never could and got really frustrated trying to write Japanese characters with my right hand when I was left handed.

Derek Rhodes

Edited by vanityx3 on 16 March 2008 at 7:29pm

1 person has voted this message useful

qklilx
United States
Joined 5946 days ago

459 posts - 477 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Korean
Personal Language Map

Message 10 of 25
19 March 2008 at 8:15pm | IP Logged 
Professor, you mention in your opening post that in 15 minutes a person should be able to transcribe an entire page with your technique and form. While my transcribing does not follow your form (however now that I've seen it I will begin to use it), I find that it takes me almost half an hour to transcribe an entire page. I understand between 50-75% of the vocabulary presented in the material (a book read by 5th graders). I want to say that my vocabulary level is what sets me back, but your form seems to be very painstaking, which takes time. Am I missing something? Also, if it helps you answer my question, I am actively studying Korean.