Jeffers
United Kingdom
Joined 4844 days ago

2151 posts - 3960 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Hindi, Ancient Greek, French, Sanskrit, German

Message 41 of 81
13 September 2011 at 2:09pm | IP Logged 
Somehow we've struck a raw nerve with s_allard. He makes a lot of good points nevertheless.

Of course private tutoring can be good. I'm sure immersion programmes can be good as well. But the amount of money people are willing to spend on something does not equate with quality. It that were true, then Rosetta Stone would be brilliant!

As regards language classes in school, the article I quoted in the original post also trashed them. She said something to the effect that if it's more than a few students, you won't learn much. I'm a teacher myself, so I know that most language teachers have fight an uphill battle with a full class of students, most of whom are unwilling to engage with the subject. It is obviously better at higher levels and in university. Myself, I had great experiences with language classes in my high school and in university, but this is often not the case.

1 person has voted this message useful

petteri
Triglot
Finland
Joined 4867 days ago

117 posts - 208 votes 
Speaks: Finnish*, English, Swedish
Studies: German, Spanish

Message 42 of 81
13 September 2011 at 2:51pm | IP Logged 
The most important factor of language learning is missing. The effort.

In my opinion if language is learned or used at the constant rate of under five hours a week, results of language learning are usually close to nil. No matter if it is class room, self study or privates. Within 5-10 hours there is transition zone where results vary.

But if language is studied and used seriously at the rate of over 10 hours a week, language learning really accelerated. But few learners really achieve such study rates without immersion.