Triglot
France
Joined 5414 days ago

483 posts - 559 votes 
Speaks: French*, English, Spanish
Studies: Russian, German

Message 1 of 115
30 December 2010 at 5:54pm | IP Logged 
Hello friends old and new, hypothetical teammates and anyone interested. This will be my language log for this year, and I hope you won't be too bored by it.I'm 23, I'm French and live in France, but I studied and taught English, travelled to various parts so I'm fluent at that, too. Now I'm studying it again (teaching didn't work so great) to become a medical translator. My Spanish isn't too bad either, a result of last year's TAC in which, however, I was unable or too lazy to work on my Russian beyond the first six months.

For this year, one thing is certain, I will keep using and at least maintain my current Spanish level. Now the question is: should I study Russian, like last year, and risk being discouraged, or should I study a language of intermediary difficulty such as German, which I used to know and forgot but shouldn't be to hard to get back into, with a chance of becoming fluent by the end of the year and thus adding one more linguistic feather to my cap? I would really rather know Russian than German, but German would be so much easier that the effort-to-reward ratio is definitely in its favour. One other reason why I stopped studying Russian last year, and it may sound dumb, is that I changed computers and so lost my old keyboard, which I had pimped up with little russian letter stickers, and by downloading a Cyrillic keyboard program. Now I have this shiny new one and putting stickers on it still seems a bit... sacrilege.

All that to justify my decision really, which is the following: I will start studying German again, mostly by L/R (listening/reading), and see how work-intensive it is. If and when I reach fluency in German, then I'll maintain it along with Spanish and pick up my Russian where I left off (or a bit earlier as I'll have forgotten a lot).