Diglot
United States
Joined 4860 days ago

35 posts - 37 votes
Speaks: English*, German
Studies: Arabic (Written)

Message 41 of 68
16 June 2011 at 11:19pm | IP Logged 
When I started learning German, my friends were confused, often asking "Why learn German instead of French? Spanish? Latin?" and "Isn't that the language of Hitler?"

Later on, though, some found it interesting.
2 persons have voted this message useful

Witproduct
Triglot
Belgium
Joined 5629 days ago

19 posts - 20 votes
Speaks: Dutch*, English, German
Studies: French

Message 43 of 68
26 June 2011 at 3:42am | IP Logged 
The age-old law of Godwin. When will it ever grow old ? Of course it all depends of which
circles you're brought up in, but generally people tend to be shamelessly ignorant about
languages. I guess you have to endure it and stand strong, take the high-ground and all
the jazz. German is a great language, I neither understand why it's so unpopular.

Edited by Witproduct on 26 June 2011 at 3:48am

1 person has voted this message useful

zekecoma
United StatesRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 5294 days ago

561 posts - 655 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: German, Spanish

Message 44 of 68
26 June 2011 at 4:58am | IP Logged 
Witproduct wrote:
The age-old law of Godwin. When will it ever grow old ? Of course
it all depends of which
circles you're brought up in, but generally people tend to be shamelessly ignorant
about
languages. I guess you have to endure it and stand strong, take the high-ground and all
the jazz. German is a great language, I neither understand why it's so unpopular.

I agree. I wish people would get over that Nazi crap. It's been what, almost 80 years
later since that has happened? I mean, look at the US. They had put Japaneses,
Italians, Germans in their concentration camps (interment camps). Yet, they only see
Hitler as the only bad one?

If you go to any German or Japanese video on YouTube. They complain about Hitler and