Triglot
Netherlands
Joined 6833 days ago

1394 posts - 1412 votes 
Speaks: Dutch*, English, German
Studies: Spanish

Message 17 of 18
02 September 2005 at 6:17am | IP Logged 
First a small intro: I don't master a Roman language yet but I do have some experience with both languages. I have French and Spanish speaking friends and I have started to learn French for a while, but later I changed to Spanish because I have met a nice Spanish lady :) I'm studying Spanish now for two weeks. I studied French longer but now I finaly have a better learning method: audio tapes (Pimsleur) so my Spanish is getting better much faster :)

My experience is that I find Spanish easier when it comes to spelling, the words themselfs and the sequence of words. French is more difficult I think. But when it comes to pronounciation, I find French much easier because I'm more used to that. It is also pronounced more clearly I think. Sometimes Spanish words seem a bit unclear and I have to hear it several times before I know how to pronounce it. With French I often already know how it should be pronounced, even before I hear it.

So far my contribution :-)

Tuffy

1 person has voted this message useful

Martien
Heptaglot
Netherlands
martienvanwanrooij.n
Joined 6904 days ago

134 posts - 148 votes 
Speaks: Dutch*, English, German, Spanish, Turkish, Italian, French
Studies: Portuguese, Serbo-Croatian, Latin, Swedish, Arabic (Written)

Message 18 of 18
03 September 2005 at 10:40am | IP Logged