Diglot
United Kingdom
Joined 5565 days ago

340 posts - 357 votes 
Speaks: English*, French

Message 1 of 9
14 April 2009 at 5:12pm | IP Logged 
Hello...

I've been trying to find parallel English-Romanian texts, but they don't seem to exist for English learners of Romanian. It occurred to me there must be plenty for Romanian learners of English since this is much more common. I've found this Romanian online bookstore and the section "English Readers"- but since I'm a total beginner and the site is in Romanian I can't tell if they are parallel texts or just books written in simple English. -Obviously if there's no Romanian translation they will be of no use to me.

So, I was wondering if any of you who can speak/read Romanian could have a quick look at this link (it's short list of English readers) and tell me if the descriptions say they are parallel or in English only. I would be eternally grateful!

http://www.librarie.net/cautare-carti-rezultate.php?pg=&t=&a u=&e=&co=ENGLISH%20READERS&oc=1

multumesc! (sorry can't figure out how to type the t-cedilla)

EDIT: changed the title of the thread as it could have misled people into thinking I needed a native speaker :-)

Edited by Dark_Sunshine on 15 April 2009 at 2:12am

1 person has voted this message useful

Iversen
Super Polyglot
Denmark
berejst.dk
Joined 6503 days ago

9078 posts - 16473 votes 
Speaks: Danish*, French, English, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch, Swedish, Esperanto, Romanian, Catalan
Studies: Afrikaans, Greek, Norwegian, Russian, Serbian, Icelandic, Latin, Irish, Lowland Scots, Indonesian, Polish, Croatian
Personal Language Map

Message 2 of 9
15 April 2009 at 2:56am | IP Logged