Joined 6882 days ago

681 posts - 739 votes 
1 sounds
Speaks: English*, GermanB1, French
Studies: Spanish

Message 33 of 73
21 February 2007 at 2:44pm | IP Logged 
David,

Thanks much for the translation, that’s a valuable contribution to the forum.

It helps put things into perspectives; all our courses and methods are just fancy notebooks.

It was also a good case for learning with the basics, similar to learning arithmetic on paper before learning to use a calculator.

John

1 person has voted this message useful

Linguamor
Decaglot
United States
Joined 6408 days ago

469 posts - 599 votes 
Speaks: English*, German, Italian, Spanish, Swedish, Danish, French, Norwegian, Portuguese, Dutch

Message 34 of 73
21 February 2007 at 3:14pm | IP Logged 
frenkeld wrote:
Well, it's done. I have confirmed for myself that I am no translator.

Well, I was wondering if you had experience in translation. As a translator, I know how difficult translation can sometimes be. I haven't seen the Russian original, but it seems to me your translation is quite good.

frenkeld
Diglot
United States
Joined 6733 days ago

2042 posts - 2719 votes 
Speaks: Russian*, English
Studies: German

Message 35 of 73
21 February 2007 at 4:28pm | IP Logged 
Linguamor wrote:
Well, I was wondering if you had experience in translation. As a translator, I know how difficult translation can sometimes be.

To tell the truth, at this instant I can't recall a single occasion when I translated anything from Russian into English in a formal way since coming to the US in 1979. I should say I am not really too concerned about readability of the translation, once I get a chance to clean up the English a bit. It's the diffculties you are referring to that I found intimidating.