Hong Kong
Joined 6151 days ago

346 posts - 431 votes 
1 sounds
Speaks: French*, English
Studies: Mandarin, Cantonese, Shanghainese, German

Message 89 of 169
01 October 2009 at 7:02pm | IP Logged 
I am currently studying business and I will get to chose my major next year. I don't exactly know what I want to do later on but finance seems interesting. The only thing I am certain about is that I want to live and work in mainland China; I don't know how I will get there yet but I know I will.
1 person has voted this message useful

jessikt
Triglot
Groupie
Austria
ichestudiolangues.co
Joined 5643 days ago

98 posts - 102 votes 
Speaks: English*, GermanB1, French
Studies: SpanishA2, Swedish

Message 90 of 169
01 October 2009 at 9:25pm | IP Logged 
I am going to study "Transkulturelle Kommunikation" and "Romanistik" at the University of Vienna. Transkulturelle
Kommunikation is Translation and Interpretation (with English, German and Spanish (and maybe French) as the
working languages) and Romanistik is romance studies, so learning about romance languages and the countries in
which they are spoken. You focus on two languages so I would focus on French and Spanish to compliment my
Translation studies. I keep also being tempted by Linguistics and German philology, but I think I will stick with my
original plan.

I am not exactly sure what I am going to do as a career. Right now I am thinking Translation or Teaching, or both?
Or neither... Hmm.. :)

kirahvi
Heptaglot
Finland
Joined 5343 days ago

7 posts - 7 votes
Speaks: Finnish*, Polish, Slovak, English, German, Spanish, Swedish
Studies: Russian, Ukrainian, Icelandic, Mandarin

Message 91 of 169
01 October 2009 at 9:31pm | IP Logged 
Master's in German with political science and Slovak as minors, working on a second Master's in Polish with Russian and Ukrainian as minors.

Fasulye
Heptaglot
Winner TAC 2012
Germany
fasulyespolyglotblog
Joined 5656 days ago

5460 posts - 6006 votes 
1 sounds