Canada
thetoweringpile.blog
Joined 4995 days ago

284 posts - 410 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Esperanto, Toki Pona, German, French

Message 89 of 104
29 November 2010 at 1:50am | IP Logged 
I didn't read through everyone's arguments, but I'll just state my experience. First of all, I haven't actually learned a language, so I'm no expert on language learning methods. Also, all I've ever used is Pimsleur, because the other programs I've tried from the library seemed too hard at the beginning. The furthest I've gone is with Pimsleur German, where I think I reached around lesson 20 or so, before school started up again and I had to set my language learning aside. Now I'm primarily working on Esperanto, so of course I'm just using online lessons and a dictionary.

As for usefulness of Pimsleur: One thing I can say is it is a great introduction to a language. Speaking as someone who has never had success learning languages, it got me saying a few things quickly, and most importantly gave me the feel of the language. So I don't know about it usefulness in the higher levels, or for people who are already familiar with the language, but for an absolute beginner, it's a good start. The slowness did frustrate me at times, but then at other times I would be frustrated by how hard a lesson suddenly was (German is suddenly a lot harder when the sentences start to get long!). So I guess it varies. I'll probably always start with Pimsleur when learning a language for which they have a program, but I'm certainly willing to try out other audio courses as well.
2 persons have voted this message useful

EricZast
United States
Joined 4972 days ago

1 posts - 4 votes

Message 90 of 104
16 December 2010 at 6:12am | IP Logged 
Just my two cent on this topic: Pimsleur is not a complete resource to learn any
language. I think no program or book can claim this, it would be exaggerated.

But Pimsleur in as excellent tool to learn the basics of a language, to survive in a