Language Learning Forum : Philological Room Post Reply
22 messages over 3 pages: 13  Next >>
ellasevia
Super Polyglot
Winner TAC 2011
Germany
Joined 5932 days ago

2150 posts - 3229 votes 
Speaks: English*, German, Croatian, Greek, French, Spanish, Russian, Swedish, Portuguese, Turkish, Italian
Studies: Catalan, Persian, Mandarin, Japanese, Romanian, Ukrainian

Message 9 of 22
28 July 2010 at 4:24pm | IP Logged 
I'm not entirely sure, but I think that Ancient Greek did have an infinite. With connections to Romanian in specific, I studied Romanian for a month or two last year and I have a Romanian friend and as she was teaching me some words, I was very surprised to learn that quite a few of them were identical or very similar to the Greek counterparts. They're probably just loanwords, but it was still interesting. The only ones I can remember off the top of my head right now are ντουλάπι/dulap, φούστα/fustă, and παλτό/palton, but I remember several others, including one I tried to find just now which was a Romanian word which I thought meant "slipper" and was quite close to the Greek παντόφλα.
1 person has voted this message useful

ReachingOut
Pentaglot
Groupie
Greece
Joined 5027 days ago

57 posts - 81 votes 
Speaks: English*, German, GreekB2, French, Romanian
Studies: Italian

Message 10 of 22
29 July 2010 at 9:51am | IP Logged 
I don't know the origin of φούστα/fustă and παλτό/palton, but I rather think that ντουλάπι/dulap is or Turkish origin, both languages have loan words from Turkish. Romanian also has many loan words from Greek, as do a lot of languages. I also think that there are a lot of loan words from French in both languages, so the vocabulary is often very similar.

Iversen
Super Polyglot
Denmark
berejst.dk
Joined 6493 days ago

9078 posts - 16473 votes 
Speaks: Danish*, French, English, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch, Swedish, Esperanto, Romanian, Catalan