blasius
Italy
Joined 4997 days ago

14 posts - 19 votes
Studies: English

Message 17 of 22
22 August 2010 at 8:38pm | IP Logged 
ellasevia wrote:
I'm not entirely sure, but I think that Ancient Greek did have an infinite. With connections to Romanian in specific, I studied Romanian for a month or two last year and I have a Romanian friend and as she was teaching me some words, I was very surprised to learn that quite a few of them were identical or very similar to the Greek counterparts. They're probably just loanwords, but it was still interesting. The only ones I can remember off the top of my head right now are ντουλάπι/dulap, φούστα/fustă, and παλτό/palton, but I remember several others, including one I tried to find just now which was a Romanian word which I thought meant "slipper" and was quite close to the Greek παντόφλα.

Oddly enough, "pantofla" exists in Italian too ("pantofola"), its meaning being the same as in Romanian, slipper.
1 person has voted this message useful

Sennin
Bulgaria
Joined 5823 days ago

1457 posts - 1759 votes 
5 sounds

Message 18 of 22
22 August 2010 at 10:20pm | IP Logged 
blasius wrote:
ellasevia wrote:
I'm not entirely sure, but I think that Ancient Greek did have an infinite. With connections to Romanian in specific, I studied Romanian for a month or two last year and I have a Romanian friend and as she was teaching me some words, I was very surprised to learn that quite a few of them were identical or very similar to the Greek counterparts. They're probably just loanwords, but it was still interesting. The only ones I can remember off the top of my head right now are ντουλάπι/dulap, φούστα/fustă, and παλτό/palton, but I remember several others, including one I tried to find just now which was a Romanian word which I thought meant "slipper" and was quite close to the Greek παντόφλα.

Oddly enough, "pantofla" exists in Italian too ("pantofola"), its meaning being the same as in Romanian, slipper.