Canada
thetoweringpile.blog
Joined 4918 days ago

284 posts - 410 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Esperanto, Toki Pona, German, French

Message 41 of 47
01 December 2010 at 3:26am | IP Logged 
I haven't learned a second language yet, so it's hard for me to say what languages help me learn other ones. However, I took French class in elementary school and junior high, and then forgot it after, but now that I'm studying Esperanto that French sure helps with the vocabulary. I can't speak French at all but when learning the days of week, for example, in Esperanto, it certainly helps that they're almost identical to French. Also, I was listening to Radio Verda (understanding almost nothing) and heard the word "fromagxo", and I knew they were talking about cheese!
1 person has voted this message useful

Solfrid Cristin
Heptaglot
Winner TAC 2011 & 2012
Norway
Joined 5137 days ago

4143 posts - 8864 votes 
Speaks: Norwegian*, Spanish, Swedish, French, English, German, Italian
Studies: Russian

Message 42 of 47
02 December 2010 at 1:47am | IP Logged 
Lianne wrote:
I haven't learned a second language yet, so it's hard for me to say what languages help me learn other ones. However, I took French class in elementary school and junior high, and then forgot it after, but now that I'm studying Esperanto that French sure helps with the vocabulary. I can't speak French at all but when learning the days of week, for example, in Esperanto, it certainly helps that they're almost identical to French. Also, I was listening to Radio Verda (understanding almost nothing) and heard the word "fromagxo", and I knew they were talking about cheese!

This is actually a perfect example of one language helping you on with the next. I most certainly do not master all the languages I have mentioned as helping me with the next language!!!
2 persons have voted this message useful

Delodephius
Bilingual Tetraglot
Yugoslavia
Joined 5206 days ago

342 posts - 501 votes