Pentaglot
United States
Joined 5108 days ago

100 posts - 140 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish, Arabic (Written), Mandarin, French
Studies: German

Message 1 of 15
22 January 2011 at 3:46am | IP Logged 
I am seeking advice about learning Germanic languages. I've been studying Icelandic for a couple months, and while I'm making progress, it's certainly a task. While technically my native language, English, is Germanic, I've found I can pick up Spanish, French and Italian much quicker than a new Germanic language. Here's my question: from the standpoint that my long-term goal is to learn a handful of Germanic languages, would it be more effective to first gain control of a closer cousin to English (like German or Dutch) and then proceed? That is, by starting with a challenge like Icelandic, am I dooming myself to slower progress down the line than if I started with Dutch?

What would seasoned polyglots recommend as an intro to the Germanic languages, not in terms of real-world practicality, but from a purely linguistic standpoint?
1 person has voted this message useful

Lucky Charms
Diglot
Japan
lapacifica.net
Joined 6739 days ago

752 posts - 1711 votes 
Speaks: English*, Japanese
Studies: German, Spanish

Message 2 of 15
22 January 2011 at 4:05am | IP Logged 
German, because it has a great wealth of study materials for learning the other Germanic
languages, and because if you end your endeavor there you'll still be left with a useful
and widely-spoken language.
3 persons have voted this message useful

Chung
Diglot
Joined 6946 days ago

4228 posts - 8259 votes 
20 sounds
Speaks: English*, French
Studies: Polish, Slovak, Uzbek, Turkish, Korean, Finnish

Message 3 of 15
22 January 2011 at 4:41am | IP Logged 
Ygangerg wrote: