Groupie
United States
Joined 4781 days ago

59 posts - 85 votes 
Speaks: English*, French
Studies: Spanish

Message 1 of 46
16 June 2011 at 7:46am | IP Logged 
Edit: I started learning Spanish on page 3.

--

I'm moving to Liege, Belgium next semester to finish up my degree. The only problem is
that I don't know French!

I started learning a few months ago, but I didn't get very far, because I got crazy busy with
schoolwork. All I
managed to do was a tiny tiny bit of FSI. Like, I'm pretty sure I didn't even finish unit one
of the basic, and I did a
few of the phonology ones. Man was FSI boring.

I'm a man who trusts science. So the second time around, before I started I browsed
these forums to see what other
people thought were the most efficient methods to learn languages. What I kept seeing
was the LR method. I read
up on it some and I was sold.

I started three or four days ago. I got a hold of the Harry Potter books. Maybe not the best
choice, but I didn't find a
whole lot of options. Though I've seen the first movie, I don't think I've ever read the book.
So to start, I would read
one chapter in L1 and then listen in L2 and read in L2. Tonight I finished the book this
way, which is 8 hours of
audio. At this point, I can pretty easily distinguish different words. I can translate some of
the sentences, and other
sentences I'm still thinking, "what?!" Still, I feel like I got through the hardest 8 hours of
the adventure, and I'm
feeling good and accomplished already.

My next step is to go through the book again, listening to L2 and reading L1. This should
go quicker than the last
read-through, since I don't have to read the book separately in L1 (technically I guess I
read the book twice in the
past few days, phew).

I'm leaving for Belgium in late August. I hope to practice French at the very least one hour
per day, but hopefully
many days I will spend much more than that practicing. But I don't want to skip any days,
that way I never get the