United States
languageloft-ashley.
Joined 5054 days ago

66 posts - 76 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Japanese, French, Russian

Message 1 of 20
17 December 2011 at 6:13pm | IP Logged 
      TAC 2012(Go Team Žá)! I'm a super excited to begin a new year of language learning, so I have set some really ambitious goals. I plan on updating this weekly, maybe bi-weekly during the Marching Band season (July-November). Anyway, the following are my goals, study plans, and reasons for learning each language:

French

French culture has a certain charm that has always appealed to me. So, while I am a newbie at this language, I have no doubt that I will be able to stay motivated. I am going to use Michel Thomas, followed by Assimil. After that I will rely on the internet, mostly. I hope to get to a B2 level by the end of the year.

Russian

This is another new language for me. But, again, motivation shouldn't be a problem, with Russia's rich history and fascinating culture. Michel Thomas and Teach Yourself are going to be my main resources, along with some great websites I have found. B2 is my goal for this language as well.

Japanese

I'm an intermediate learner of Japanese, but I really want to step it up this year. I am going to continue my current activities (listening to podcasts and watching J Dramas) and add some more practical ones(reading books and articles, using Anki, writing at Lang-8) BY the end of the year, I would really like to be at C1 level in this language.

Perhaps these aren't the most realistic goals, but I am extremely motivated to study. We'll just have to see how it turns out. Thanks for reading!

Edited by pineappleboom on 02 January 2012 at 7:21pm

1 person has voted this message useful

pineappleboom
Groupie
United States
languageloft-ashley.
Joined 5054 days ago

66 posts - 76 votes 

Message 2 of 20
17 December 2011 at 7:40pm | IP Logged 
I forgot to mention, if anyone knows of good sites for French, please
let me know!

Serpent
Octoglot