Mooby
Scotland
Joined 5900 days ago

707 posts - 1219 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Polish

Message 1 of 108
04 January 2012 at 6:32pm | IP Logged 
Time to get this log rolling, hopefully downhill.

My aim this year is to take a big plodding step in maturation from a little cow (Krówka) into a hulking great shaggy bison (Żubr). I've been surviving on a very meagre diet and what I need this year is some solid grammar protein.
Serious grammar is something I've been postponing too long already, so it's time to chew on some nice noun declensions.

Background
I started learning Polish because as a voluntary English teacher I was meeting many Poles and thought I'd try their language out of interest, solidarity and mutual encouragement. So after a few false starts I began in earnest 16 months ago.
It's the first serious attempt to learn a language since school, where I failed all my French exams.
I quickly realised that Polish required a massive amount of effort from the start, in order to build up the momentum and 'get into orbit' where it gets a bit more comfortable. There's virtually no transparency with English, the grammar is difficult and the pronunciation intially like speaking with a mouthful of wet cardboard.

Aims
I guestimate that I'm around the A2 level with reading my strongest skill and listening my weakest. I'm aiming to hit B2 by the end of the year.
I've got 1844 words on Anki at the moment, which I'd like to grow to 3500. Although I enjoy vocabulary acquistion, I must work on the grammar so that I can play around with the words I already know (in the nominative / infinitive).
I also need conversation partners; I've just found one and had my first serious conversation in Polish yesterday (at long last).

Latest Word
Złośnik = hothead (someone on a short fuse)

Good luck to all loggers, especially my fellow bison.
1 person has voted this message useful

Vos
Diglot
Australia
Joined 5361 days ago

766 posts - 1020 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish