Diglot
Spain
Joined 4703 days ago

164 posts - 248 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish
Studies: Arabic (Written), Croatian, German, French

Message 1 of 22
23 January 2012 at 12:01am | IP Logged 
This should be fun! I have decided on French and Croatian for the 2012 TAC.
Some background: I am a native English speaker, fluent in Spanish, and I
take Arabic classes. I will be living in Cadiz, Spain from the beginning of
February until the end of June, trying to make my Spanish from fluent to pass for a
native. Arabic is taking the backseat; I may pick it back up in the fall. We'll see
how much I've lost when I travel to Morocco. I plan on going to France and Croatia
too, so I can use my languages!

Croatian: Complete Beginner. I was never a fan of Slavic languages. I
don't know why, but they just also made me think of cold weather (which I hate),
communism, and inconceivable consonant clusters. That's pretty unfair now, especially
after investigating more about them. I am fascinated by Croatia and it's cultural
melange, and the beauty of the Dalmatian coast, thus I've been turned on to Croatian.
For now, I will study on my own, and would like to be Low Intermediate by end of 2012.
I might have the opportunity to study in Dubrovnik this summer for a few weeks, but
that is still to be decided. I wouldn't mind eventually using it professionally and
living in Croatia.

French: Complete Beginner. Well, that's not entirely true. I've
dabbled in French enough to know some vocab and travel sentences, but it's beyond me to
converse in it. I like Romance languages, more because of the cultures they go along
with, but the languages themselves are nice. I've decided on French because it will be
"most useful" for my life right now. I like to be able to use my languages right away.
Given the prevelance of it in the Maghreb and Lebanon, it will be a good supplement to
my Arabic study. I also feel like it was the best next Romance for European purposes