United StatesRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4442 days ago

55 posts - 72 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Spanish

Message 1 of 22
20 March 2012 at 4:50am | IP Logged 
Hey all.

My name's Gatsby, I'm a college student wrapping up my second semester of Spanish. The
class leaves something to be desired through what's asked of us on a speaking level,
whereas I feel like my writing and grammar are improving with each week.

Right now, I haven't even reached A1 yet. By the end of the semester, I will have,
though it's my goal to use this site and my own self study to start speeding the
process along. At my current speed, it'd take me until next year to progress to B1. My
goal is to reach B1 by the end of this year.

To sum it up, my goal is

Sub A1 to solid B1 by the end of 2012. I plan on participating in TAC and would like to
join Team Romantics.

Looking forward to keeping up with this. Learning Spanish has been one of the only joys
afforded to me this last year, and I can't wait to start getting competent with it!

Edited by Gatsby42 on 22 March 2012 at 3:58am

1 person has voted this message useful

Gatsby42
Groupie
Joined 4442 days ago

55 posts - 72 votes 

Message 2 of 22
22 March 2012 at 3:56am | IP Logged 
3-21-12
We just wrapped up chapter 7, which covered verbs like gustar, the preterite or ser and
ir, reflexive verbs and and indefinite and negative words. Last chapter was a woozy as
there were a lot of verbs to swallow(some of which were of the blasted stem changing
variety ><), but I'm happy to report that I got a whopping 95% on the test I took for
the unit!

That was last unit though and today we started a new one. Vocab wise, we're learning
about food. The verbs we're learning are the preterite of stem changing verbs along
with others. One thing I've neglected to mention is that I have a friend fluent in
Spanish who I get to practice with often.

During my first semester or so I wasn't really capable of speaking with him, but now we