Register  Login  Active Topics  Maps  

Which Scandinavian language do you learn?

Language Learning Forum : Skandinavisk & Nordisk Post Reply
Poll Question: Which Nordic language are you learning?
Poll Choice Votes Poll Statistics
42 [37.84%]
17 [15.32%]
40 [36.04%]
10 [9.01%]
2 [1.80%]
You can not vote in this poll

42 messages over 6 pages: 1 2 35 6  Next >>
Medulin
Tetraglot
Croatia
Joined 4449 days ago

1199 posts - 2192 votes 
Speaks: Croatian*, English, Spanish, Portuguese
Studies: Norwegian, Hindi, Nepali

Message 25 of 42
29 January 2013 at 12:33am | IP Logged 
I'm studying both Nynorsk and Bokmaal. I can't say Nynorsk is any more difficult than Bokmaal, they're just different. Some verbs which are regular in Bokmaal are irregular in Nynorsk (and vice versa). Once you've learned Nynorsk, the transition from Nynorsk to conservative Bokmaal is a piece of cake. You just substitute Nynorsk and Samnorsk forms with Riksmaal/moderate Bokmaal forms and discard the feminine gender (except for a handful of words like jenta, katta, kua, hytta...)

I've noticed that many people from Oslo label every Nynorsk-sounding dialect as Nynorsk.
Martin Blomvik and Fjellfolk sang in their respective Western dialects last week at Melodie Grand Prix, yet the Oslo-based press stated they had sung ''in Nynorsk''.

Uvular R works better in Nynorsk than in Bokmaal (because the standard Southeastern Norwegian /spoken form of Bokmaal does not use it). On NRK, uvular R is rare among newscasters using Bokmaal, but is predominant in Nynorsk-newscasters (like Ingvild Bryn).

Edited by Medulin on 29 January 2013 at 12:39am

2 persons have voted this message useful

NorwegianNYC
Triglot
United States
Joined 4120 days ago

10 posts - 21 votes
Speaks: English, Norwegian*, German

Message 26 of 42
30 January 2013 at 4:21pm | IP Logged 
The problem with Nynorsk is that its creator, Ivar Aasen, did not include Eastern
dialects in his proposed 'purified' Norwegian. This was a grave mistake since he