Élan
United States
Joined 5253 days ago

165 posts - 211 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Persian

Message 105 of 168
28 December 2012 at 10:47pm | IP Logged 
Okay, I will definitely remind you about it now and then. :) And for anyone who wants to join you watching Persian
TV, you can watch online here. That site has Iran-based channels as well as foreign-
based channels.
3 persons have voted this message useful

Haksaeng
Korea, South
Joined 6007 days ago

166 posts - 250 votes 
Studies: Korean, Arabic (Levantine)

Message 106 of 168
30 December 2012 at 6:58am | IP Logged 
Hi, I'm a new member of Team Alef and joined on a whim since I made a sudden decision this week to start learning Arabic. I've been learning Korean for several years and I live in Korea, so that will remain my primary language-learning focus, but I need to start learning Arabic too.

Right now I'm visiting my husband's family in Lebanon and I don't understand any Arabic, which is really cutting into my enjoyment of the visit. The next time we come here, probably in two years or so, I want to understand some of the conversation so I don't feel so bored and frustrated.

I'm going to be trying to learn conversational Levantine Arabic, trying not to get too bogged down by MSA. My husband is a native speaker but I'm a complete beginner. I just bought a handful of kids' beginning Arabic books at a bookstore yesterday and I'm starting to learn the letters.

Good luck to everyone learning one of the languages of the Middle East.

Edited by Haksaeng on 30 December 2012 at 9:28am

1 person has voted this message useful

Haksaeng
Korea, South
Joined 6007 days ago

166 posts - 250 votes 

Message 107 of 168
30 December 2012 at 9:29am | IP Logged 
edited to include my log:

http://how-to-learn-any-language.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?T ID=34764&PN=1

Élan
United States
Joined 5253 days ago

165 posts - 211 votes 

Message 108 of 168
01 January 2013 at 1:45am | IP Logged