Language Learning Forum : Language Learning Log Post Reply
24 messages over 3 pages: 1 2 3  Next >>
ellasevia
Super Polyglot
Winner TAC 2011
Germany
Joined 5929 days ago

2150 posts - 3229 votes 
Speaks: English*, German, Croatian, Greek, French, Spanish, Russian, Swedish, Portuguese, Turkish, Italian
Studies: Catalan, Persian, Mandarin, Japanese, Romanian, Ukrainian

Message 1 of 24
27 December 2012 at 7:18pm | IP Logged 
Ellasevia’s TAC 2013 – Teams Divan and Alef

Hello and welcome to my new TAC log for 2013! (Here is my TAC 2012 log.) For those of you who don’t know me, I’m an American exchange student studying abroad in Croatia. In August, after spending a year in beautiful Hrvatska, I’ll return to the United States to begin studying linguistics at university. In the meantime, I’ll be exploring a colorful selection of languages this year on my own, trying to resume the steady study rhythm that I used to keep in some previous years.

This year I’ve chosen to join two teams: the Croatian Team Divan and the Middle Eastern Team Alef. As such, Croatian and Persian will be the highlights of my studies and will be given special emphasis.

In the past I’ve set far too many lofty goals for myself, which always resulted in me coming up short at the end of the year. This time around, I’m going to try setting minimal long-term goals and instead focus on the short term. At the beginning of each month I’ll create a list of smaller, concrete goals for each language that I’d like to accomplish by the end of that month. The only yearlong goals I’m going to set forth are that I would simply like to improve in all of the languages I’m studying, and work more on reading in my target languages. I’d also ideally like to spend at least 550 hours on language study in 2013, because that works out to a nice average pace of about 10.5 hours per week, or about 1.5 hours per day.

And now, to introduce the languages I’ll be working on in 2013:

Hrvatski