Canada
Joined 4108 days ago

22 posts - 33 votes
Speaks: Tagalog, English*, Spanish
Studies: Korean, Mandarin

Message 1 of 16
02 January 2013 at 1:01am | IP Logged 
Hi everyone! 大家好!안녕하세요 여러분! I'm Nick (username PicNick), I'm a grade 12 high
school student in Vancouver, and I'm brand new to these forums. Hoping that the TAC
will motivate me to both post here more often as well as improve my language progress.

Korean

Korean has been my first self-study language, and I'm pleased to say it's going well.
I've been studying Hangeul (the Korean alphabet) since 2008 and I can read it
reasonably well now. I started with basic self study lessons at the time as well on
TalkToMeInKorean, but I never really focused on the lessons and took them seriously
until 2011. I've been studying somewhat 'hardcore' since then so I'd say I've been
learning Korean for roughly a year or two now. TTMIK lessons are an important part of
my learning, but I really learn the most through immersing myself in Korean media. I
listen to a LOT of Korean music and watch Korean TV. There are also a lot of Korean
students at my school, so with all of this it's impossible for me to go a day without
hearing Korean.

My speaking level is basic conversational; I can hold conversations with friends for
any length of time. Sometimes we have to talk slower than normal or they have to
explain hard words to me, but I'm getting to the point where they can explain new
vocabulary in Korean, as opposed to simply giving me the English translation. I
definitely understand more than I speak, but I still have on subtitles when I watch
videos for when they speak too fast or if they use unfamiliar words.
My reading/writing is fine, and I sometimes understand/can say more because of the lack
of time pressure with spoken conversation. However, since I've learned Korean somewhat
informally, I have trouble with formal and proper spelling, punctuation, etc. I tend to