Canada
Joined 4315 days ago

80 posts - 118 votes 
Speaks: English*, FrenchB2
Studies: German, Portuguese, Norwegian

Message 1 of 26
11 January 2013 at 8:58am | IP Logged 
For next year's log see: WoofCreature Åsgard & Exploradores TAC14

Hello, this is my first log on this forum, so hopefully I do this right. This year I will be studying Portuguese and French on team Romulan. In addition, I will be studying Tagalog and I might dabble in Cree, Inuktitut and/or American Sign Language.

French
I started learning French when I was five in Canada's infamous French immersion program and am now in high school. I understand almost everything that I hear or read and I can write reasonably well since I have to write a ton of assignments in French, but I unfortunately have hardly spoken any French in the past few years and my speech is now quite broken. I think I would classify myself as C1 or higher in comprehension, B2 in writing and B1 in speaking. I don't plan to study the language much on my own this year, but I write a lot for a history class and I will be starting a French class in February which should include lots of reading and writing, some listening, some (poorly explained) grammar, and the rare speaking opportunity. Other than that, the only thing I'll do on my own is watch the occasional TV show or movie.

Portuguese