kujichagulia
Japan
Joined 4648 days ago

1031 posts - 1571 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Japanese, Portuguese

Message 113 of 230
02 August 2013 at 5:51am | IP Logged 
First of all... Nossa! Estou muito impressionado com a sua dedicação e disciplina. Continue assim!

Second... You and a lot of people here at HTLAL use tutors, and I'm just curious about what exactly happens when one goes to a paid tutoring session. Do you just go and talk in your target language, while the tutor makes corrections? Do you ask questions about the language that you've gathered since the last time you met? Or does the tutor come with a lesson ready to teach?

The only similar experience I have is when I first came to Japan, and I took advantage of a free Japanese tutoring program that my city had. I was a total beginner then, and I had no idea how to study a language, either, so my volunteer tutor would teach me simple question-and-answer patterns, maybe bring in a few pictures to talk about, and I learned that way.

I wonder if a paid tutoring session is like that, and what the benefits are. Obviously, it helps to speak to native speakers of your target language, but I'm curious about what having a tutor gives you that you can't get from regular contact with native speakers, textbooks, etc.
1 person has voted this message useful

outcast
Bilingual Heptaglot
China
Joined 4750 days ago

869 posts - 1364 votes 
Speaks: Spanish*, English*, German, Italian, French, Portuguese, Mandarin
Studies: Korean

Message 114 of 230
04 August 2013 at 2:20am | IP Logged 
Thank you Kujichagulia.

All of the above in my case. The tutor has exercises prepared (in my case she does from
the Teacher's manual and then in "conversation" she freestyles it), and I have
questions and doubts, and we converse to reinforce output.

But really the major advantage is that the tutor has experience so he/she can be much
better at suggesting how to approach difficulties, but also at my very basic stage of