Tetraglot
Switzerland
Joined 6238 days ago

4474 posts - 6726 votes 
Speaks: English*, Esperanto, German, Italian
Studies: French, Finnish, Mandarin, Japanese

Message 33 of 67
18 July 2013 at 3:15pm | IP Logged 
I can't stand using an SRS. I'm not too keen on using dictionaries either - I do, but rarely. For vocabulary acquisition, I prefer extensive comprehensible exposure. As an absolute beginner, this usually means L-R (possibly with a pop-up dictionary, but I usually use it without one; certainly without tedious paper-dictionary lookups); having a parallel text to aid comprehensibility makes dictionaries a lot less important. Later, simple texts on known subjects are quite good - magazine articles, science books for children, etc. Alternatively, using Assimil works tolerably; traditional coursebooks can work, but are slow, tedious, and expensive for vocabulary acquisition. I don't like cramming vocabulary in isolation early on; aside from concrete nouns, it's hard to feel comfortable about using it without sounding like Tarzan, even with isolated grammatical study performed at the same stage.

A useful tool can be frequency lists or graded readers: not to learn from in the first place, but to skim to fill in the occasional gap after you do have a basis. If you know most of the words in them, the rest will pop out, and you'll start noticing them in context everywhere.

4 persons have voted this message useful

Cavesa
Triglot
Czech Republic
Joined 4808 days ago

3277 posts - 6779 votes 
Speaks: Czech*, FrenchC2, EnglishC1
Studies: Spanish, German, Italian

Message 34 of 67
18 July 2013 at 3:49pm | IP Logged 
I got my vocab to DELF B2 and to my today's level of English. But for some reasons, I use SRS.

How I got that far without an SRS:

Enlish:
1.text based computer game that taught me about 95% of my English
2.movies and books, extensive activities
3.some small part came from the obligatory classes but that was the least efficient and least enjoyable way.