kujichagulia
Japan
Joined 4639 days ago

1031 posts - 1571 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Japanese, Portuguese

Message 1 of 23
29 July 2013 at 4:42am | IP Logged 
For the past 12 months, I did something that I never did before with my Japanese studies: I studied consistently. I made routines, I stuck with them, and my Japanese has improved considerably. I started Portuguese nearly a year ago as well, and I have studied that consistenly and learned a lot. I'm really happy about that.

Now my consistency is under attack, as I have hit a wall I never thought I would hit.

Simply put, I can't bring myself to study nowadays. And I have no idea why. Maybe it's the summer heat and humidity. Maybe it's the fact that the summer holidays have begun at my school, and I have more time than I know what to do with.

Well, let me describe my situation. My weekly routine for Japanese was to study out of my intermediate textbook, listen to podcasts from JapanesePod101.com, do Anki reviews, use a playlist to review all the past audio from my textbook and podcasts, read some articles and short stories I found on the Internet, and on rare occasions write a diary entry or a very short story. I studied on average one hour a day.

My Portuguese routine was similar. I studied out of my beginner DLI Portuguese Basic course, listened to podcasts from PortuguesePod101.com, did Anki reviews, used a playlist to review all the past audio from my textbook and podcasts, and read some texts that I found on the Internet. I studied on average around 45 minutes a day.

This was fine up until about a week and a half ago. Suddenly I found myself unable to even muster up the motivation to open my textbooks and study. No problem, I said. Why don't I take a break from the textbooks and just read some more articles and text from the Internet? So I tried that, but after a couple of days that became stale like year-old sliced bread.